Press Release

Latest Rally News

Registrations flood in for Otago Rally

Nearly 60 competitors have already submitted their intentions to enter the 2023 Otago Rally, including 12 international drivers.

Heading the list is leading Australian driver, Brendan Reeves, who has entered his Datsun 1600 which he has nicknamed “Datzilla”.

Currently, there are expressions from 10 Australian teams, with one each from Japan and the United Kingdom, with many other teams currently in discussions with rally organisers.

The rally will also feature an international ‘guest driver’, expected to be an ex-World Rally Championship star who will drive a Ford Escort RS1800.

“We’re very pleased with the strong interest across all classes, and crews will love the challenge of the 270km in 15 stages,” rally spokesman, Roger Oakley, said.

“After the last three years of COVID-19 restrictions it is fantastic to see the return of international competitors, and they can be assured of a big welcome back.

“Together with the return of the Super Special Stage in central Dunedin and the town hall prize giving, it’s great to have everything coming back.”

To be conducted from March 31 to April 2 next year, the Otago Rally will be the opening round of the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship and include the ENEOS Otago Classic Rally and an Allcomers event.

National crews in the Winmax Brakes NZRC field traditionally register their interest later, but those already on the list include local star Emma Gilmour, Haydn McKenzie in a Toyota Yaris AP4, and former champion Andrew Hawkeswood in a Toyota.

“We encourage competitors to register their interest soon,” Oakley added.

“It’s non-binding and can be done very simply online by following THIS LINK. No passwords are required.

  • The Otago Rally is grateful for the indispensable support of Dunedin City Council’s Premier Event funding
Back to top