Classic Rally eligibility criteria

Entrants in the Otago Classic Rally

Competing vehicles shall be constructed prior to 31st December 1986 and shall be 2WD.

Competitors should note that allowable modifications to vehicles differ according to the age of the vehicle as outlined below.

The organisers reserve the right to include additional vehicles (that fall outside this eligibility criteria) into the field if satisfied that the car/driver combination is in keeping with the spirit of the event.

Subject to the above competing vehicles shall comply with the following provisions.

* Be in compliance with the provisions of FIA Appendix K with respect to international historic rallies OR,
* Be in compliance with Motorsport NZ Schedule RH OR,
* Vehicles that were in Series Production prior to 31st December 1986 modified in accordance with the provisions of Clauses C1 to C8 below:

Vehicles in this category which do not use the original engine and where the vehicle and/or engine was first available between 1st January 1983 and 31st December 1986 will be accepted subject to the approval of the organising committee.

C.1 Engines

The engine may be substituted with another but must be an engine that was available prior to 31st December 1986.

The engine block and number of cams must be as per the original or substituted engine.
Pistons, connecting rods, crankshafts and associated parts are free.

Explanatory Note
This provision allows for – say – the transplant of a V8 into an escort provided that the V8 was obtainable prior to 31st December 1986 and retains its original block and number of camshafts. It can however, have modern pistons and con rods.

C.2 Induction

Forced Induction is not allowed unless standard on the vehicle at the time of manufacture i.e. A turbocharged or supercharged engine may not be transplanted into another make or model of car. A computer may not be added to a car that did not originally have one.

Intercoolers are only allowed if standard on the vehicle or homologated. Antilag and boost control is prohibited.

C.3 Fuel Injection

Fuel injection is not allowed unless standard on the vehicle prior to 1st January 1986. The vehicle must retain its original system i.e. an injected motor cannot be transplanted into another make or model of car.

An electronic system may not be substituted for a mechanical system.

C.4 Gearbox

The gearbox may be substituted with another. A maximum of five forward gears are permitted. Ratios are free. Sequential and electronically activated gearboxes are prohibited.

C.5 Differential

The differential(s) may be substituted.

C.6 Brakes and Suspension

Brakes and suspension are free however vehicles originally constructed with live rear axles must retain a live rear axle.

C.7 Wheels and Tyres

Wheel sizes are free provided they can be housed inside the wheel arches or flares (ref 8.3).
Tyres are free but must comply with the provision of Appendix 2, Schedule A.

C.8 Body Modification

C.8.1 Preamble: Competitors are strongly encouraged to maintain the original appearance of their vehicle.

C.8.2 Body Panels: May be lightened in accordance with Appendix 2, Schedule A however Carbon Fibre and Kevlar are prohibited.

C.8.3 Wheel Flares: May be fitted providing they do not protrude from the original line of the body work by more than 150 mm.

C.8.4 Wings: Wings or other aerodynamic appendages are not permitted.
“Bobtail” or boot mounted spoilers are acceptable if it can be shown that these were common on the car as rallied prior to 31st December 1986.

Vehicles will be divided into the following classes:

* 0-1300 cc
* 1301-1700 cc
* 1701cc and over

Back to top