Press Release

Latest Rally News

2024 Otago Rally opens intentions to enter

April’s Otago Rally has opened its long-awaited ‘Intention to Enter’ form for the 2024 event, to be run on April 12-14.

As the first major New Zealand rally of the year, entries for the opening round of the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship will fill up quickly, and filling out an ‘Intention to Enter’ form will be important to secure your place on the start line.

Joining the national championship field, like in previous years, are the popular Classic Rally classes, as well as the Allcomers section of the event that is growing year-on-year.

International crews returned to compete once again in 2023, and next year’s event is sure to attract a vast number of guests to tackle the famous Otago roads, including a yet-to-be- announced guest driver.

The rally route will run its usual configuration, featuring the popular Dunedin street stage on Saturday afternoon.

Before that, however, the beautiful stages of the Lawrence area make a comeback as part of a competitor-friendly route featuring the best of the Otago region.

“Planning for 2024 is well advanced and we are already looking forward to welcoming competitors back to Dunedin in April”,” event spokesperson Roger Oakley said.

“One of the things that we love about our sport is that it includes such a fantastic range of competitors. From the very top crews through to people of all ages from many places, and cars of all types.

“International competitors always add a lot of interest and the New Zealand competitors are very welcoming.”

Offering a two-pass reconnaissance for all competitors, the Otago Rally has ensured a compact schedule on those days is present – such is the nature of the stages.

The 2024 Otago Rally also counts as a qualifying event for the Asia Pacific Rally Championship and includes the famed Otago Classic Rally for 2WD and 4WD cars, and the Allcomers Rally.

The Otago Rally gratefully acknowledges the Premier Event grant support of the Dunedin City Council.

Back to top